Boating Accidents under Texas Law
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department tracks hundreds of boating accidents each year including many fatalities and many more injuries. Although most boating accidents involve alcohol consumption many are also caused by simple carelessness from either the operators for their passengers.
Operating a boat or other water vehicle, including personal watercraft such as jet skis etc., under the influence of alcohol is a crime in the state of Texas.
Failure to Stop and Render Aid
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Code requires any boat operator involved in a boating collision to stop and render aid as is reasonably practicable and necessary in order to further minimize any danger.
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Code also requires that the boat operator give his name address and boat identification number in writing to any injured person in any owner of damaged property.
It is also the responsibility of each boat operator involved in the accident to report the accident to the nearest police were Texas Parks and wildlife Department within 30 days of the accident or immediately (48 hours) if the accident results in death, injury to a person requiring medical treatment beyond first aid, or damages in excess of $2000.
If you have been injured in a Texas boating accident that was someone else's fault you may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, repair or replacement of your boat or any property that was damaged or destroyed, lost wages or income, the cost of hiring someone to perform household duties that you are unable to do because of injury, permanent disability and disfigurement, and emotional distress.
For more information about boating accidents in Texas click here.
John Q. Lawyer
Attorney at Law
This ad space is available. If you are an attorney in the Wichita Falls area that handles matters involving boating accident, click here for more information.
Accident-Boating Accident 00000000